

Town Hall Fore Street Okehampton Devon EX20 1AA

01837 53179 townclerk@okehampton.gov.uk

Emma James Town Clerk

30th April 2024

Dear Councillor

A Mayoral Award Presentation event is being held on **Wednesday 8th May 2024 at 2pm** to which you are invited to attend.

You are summoned to attend the Annual Council Meeting/Ceremony of Mayor Choosing of Okehampton Town Council to be held on **Wednesday 8th May at 2.10pm** (or at the arising of the Mayoral Award presentations, whichever later) in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Fore Street, Okehampton.

Yours faithfully

E James

Emma James Town Clerk

<u>AGENDA</u>

Business to be Transacted

- **1. Election of Mayor** To elect the Mayor of Okehampton for the ensuing year and signing of the statutory declaration of acceptance of office.
- 2. Election of Deputy Mayor To elect the Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing year and signing of the declaration of acceptance of office.
- **3. Apologies for Absence** To receive and approve apologies from Members unable to attend.
- 4. **Declarations of Interest** To receive any declarations of interest from Members.
- 5. **Mayor's Expenses** To resolve to endorse a budget of £2,500 to defray the expenses attached to this office in pursuance of section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972.
- 6. Committees of the Council To appoint Councillors to the following Committees, to elect the Chairmen and Vice Chairmen for the ensuing year and to dissolve the Emergency Committee which has not met since February 2021.
 - Property
 - Policy & Resources

- Planning
- Parks
- Personnel Sub-Committee Mayor & Committee Chairs
- 7. Working Groups To resolve to appoint Councillors to the Working Groups in accordance with the previously circulated list.
- 8. Representatives to External Bodies To appoint Councillors as representatives of the Council to other bodies, including Trustees, and to agree reporting arrangements in accordance with the previously circulated list.
- **9. 2024/25 Meeting Schedule** To note the schedule of meetings and events for the Mayoral Year as previously approved by the Council.